Day 34 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

April 28th, 2016 ~ Day 34

20160428_054153

I made it to the trailhead earlier than usual, so I decided to hike the big mountain today, hiking the Cholla Loop Trail. The loop is a little over 3.5-miles and I can usually complete my hike in an hour and ten minutes, so I had plenty of time.

My hike began with a beautiful sunrise. from the moment I arrived, I became in awe of the beauty. I saw a few hawks floating through the air, soaring in the sky.  It was a little chilly and windy this morning as I began my hike. I’m enjoying the cool weather, but I’m also looking forward to the heat so I can sweat a little more.

20160428_054821

As I climbed up, what I would consider the backside of the Cholla Loop Trail, I continued to capture the images of the beautiful sunrise.

20160428_055229

As I climbed uphill I noticed the valley covered in a layer of smog. Mountains in the distance barely visible.

20160428_055037

After I reached the summit I continued hiking the trail another quarter mile, before a hiker passing by, mentioned that there were two coyotes up ahead. He said they were headed the other direction, but I only took a couple more steps before I saw a coyote on the trail. I froze, fear overtook me. I decided I would return the way I came and I ran.

I’m not a fan of wild animals. I’ve been told coyotes won’t hurt me, but when there are more of them than me, I get a little scared. They are wild animals and you never know what they could or would do.

20160428_055208

Heading back the way I had come, gave me more opportunities to take pictures of the sunrise. With the clouds in the sky, it helped make the view more amazing.

20160428_055254

The sun’s rays began casting their light into the sky. Amazing! I love our Arizona sunrises!

20160428_055755

One last photo of the sunrise as I headed back to the trailhead. I was disappointed I didn’t make it the 3.5-mile trek. I allowed fear to overcome me. I am grateful I did make it to the trails to continue this journey.

As I made my way to my car, I ran into my inspiration for this journey. I love when I get to see him, because he reminds me of why I’m doing this challenge. One of these days I’ll have to hike with him.

I hiked a total of 2.46-miles with a 378-foot elevation gain. It wasn’t quit the total mileage I was looking for, but I will take it. Everything in life is a lesson and today I learned, I will need to overcome my fear of coyotes, and one day I will make that happen. Another beautiful day in this life!

Join me on my journey of hiking every day for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook , check out my videos on YouTube, and for more photos follow me on Flick and Instagram!

 

Leave a Reply

