Day 24 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

April 18th, 2016 ~ Day 24

20160418_185106

Exhausted from my weekend, I couldn’t get out of bed this morning. I thought about taking a lunch break to go for a hike, but that didn’t work out for me either. So, after dinner I dropped my daughter off at her Girl Scouts meeting and took the little ones hiking.

The moon was hanging high over the mountains as we began our hike. I wasn’t excited to take the kids hiking, for I knew it wouldn’t be a long hike. We started out on the Desert Iguana Trail, an east trail, I knew the kids could do.

20160418_185319

Heading east on the Desert Iguana Trail, the trail ends at a road. We followed the road south and as we turned, I saw the sun beginning to set. Our hike soon became a chase to capture the views of the beautiful sunset.

20160418_185515

Starting to climb uphill on the Chuckwalla Trail, the sunset was barely visible, but the golden glow in the sky, with the creosote bush silhouetted, made for a spectacular sight.

20160418_185916

At the peak of the Chuckwalla Trail, my daughter posing for a picture. She was excited to make it to the top of the hill. Only a 28-foot elevation gain we just hiked, but she did it. The joys of a child.

20160418_185939

Hiking along the ridgeline of the Chuckwalla Trail I could capture the sun setting once again.

20160418_190138

The sun almost gone, casting its color across the horizon. I love watching the sunset while on the trails.

20160418_190402

We made a side loop so my daughter could climb to the top of another small peak. She was so proud of herself. I was just happy my children were enjoying themselves today. Today was a much better hike than Saturdays hike.

20160418_190453

The sky became an orangish color as the sun made its final decent over the horizon. I’m so happy I was given the opportunity to chase the sunset tonight.

Our hike was less than a mile, but at a much faster pace and a lot less complaining. I need to make sure to get up in the morning to save myself the stress of worrying if I’ll make it to the trail. I’m grateful for the chance to come hiking tonight. At only day 24, I can’t quit now. I am only just beginning.

It was a beautiful sunset on the mountain tonight. I so love our Arizona sunsets!

Join me on my journey of hiking every day for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook , check out my videos on YouTube, and for more photos follow me on Flick and Instagram!

 

Leave a Reply

