Day 19 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

April 13th, 2016 ~ Day 19

20160413_054758

Another cool morning on the trails. I am embracing this weather, because it won’t last long. Today my hike begins at the 59th Avenue and Pinnacle Peak Road trailhead. Starting out on the Coachwhip Trail, I headed towards the mountain hiking through the beautiful desert landscape.

20160413_055002

As I hiked through the desert, I caught glimpse of the sun beginning to rise. Its rays casting a golden glow across the horizon.

20160413_055731

At the fork in the trail, I made a left and decided I would climb the switchbacks of the Arrowhead Point Trail. The sun still glowing across the horizon, I made way up the mountain. A beautiful sight to see!

20160413_055507

Continuing up the trail, I anticipated a glorious sunrise. I hurried uphill as fast as I could, hoping to reach the top of the switchbacks before the sunrise made its appearance.

20160413_055841

Colors of pink and blue were hanging over the White Tank Mountain Range, visible between the three hills at Thunderbird Mountain.

20160413_060307

I made it to the top of the switchbacks in time to see the sun rise over the mountain. It was so beautiful! I tried to watch the sun as it slowly creeped up over the mountains, but I was so blinded by the light. While not looking directly at the sun, I took as many pictures as I could, trying to capture its progress.

20160413_060507

Watching the sunrise made me think about how great it is to be alive. Today is a gift! I am going to make the most of this life because we only have today! Although I am only on day 19, and I have a long way to go, I am going to enjoy every moment out here on the trails. To be able to get outside and enjoy these views every day is an amazing experience.

20160413_060636

I captured one last photo of the sunrise before continuing to the peak. While hiking, I thought a lot about my plans for the coming year. I’m getting excited for the bigger hikes I have planned along with many mini-trips to other places. Thunderbird does get old day after day. I am blessed to live so close to this mountain and only wanting to stay on track to accomplish my goal of hiking every day for 365-days, I will continue to make it to a trail, even if it is the same trail. I’m just going to keep moving forward, one foot in front of the other, one day at a time.

20160413_061106

I made it to the peak of the Arrowhead Point Trail, where there lays an enormous pile of rocks and the American flag. From this point, it was all downhill. Heading down is harder on my knees, especially on the rocky terrain of the long slope that is the trail heading down this mountain.

20160413_062421

At the base of the mountain, the Arrowhead Point Trail ends, so I continued to the Coachwhip Trail, heading back to the trailhead. There is a picnic area here and in trying to capture the perfect picture frame using the posts of the pavilion, I snapped a photo. I believe there is beauty in everything in this life and I am so grateful to be here in this moment wandering through the outdoors.

I made it back to the trailhead with a 2.31-mile hike and 505-feet of elevation gain. I averaged 20-minutes per mile, which is a standard pace for me. I only have 346 more days on this journey, so we’ll see where my pace is then. Love this life!

Join me on my journey of hiking every day for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook , check out my videos on YouTube, and for more photos follow me on Flick and Instagram!

 

 

Leave a Reply

