Day 2 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

March 27th, 2016 ~ Day 2

I headed over to Thunderbird Mountain this morning to hike my second hike on my journey. Parking at 59th Avenue and Pinnacle Peak, I decided to do the Arrowhead Loop Trail. Starting at the trailhead, I began hiking south on the Coach Whip Trail. An easily managed trail that is mostly flat. Shortley after the bridge, that crosses 59th Avenue, I began a grueling uphill climb on the official Arrowhead Loop Trail.

After yesterday’s twenty-two mile hike, my legs were sore and I was moving much, much slower. Almost twenty-eight minutes per mile, which is an extremely slow pace for me. Usually after a big hike, I don’t hike the following day, but today is different. Today is day two of my journey. No matter how much pain I’m in, I’m going to continue on this journey. I made a commitment to myself and I plan to follow through with mu goal.

I headed uphill on what felt like the most enormous slope ever. One foot in front of the other, that was all I could think about as I made my way up the side of the mountain.  I eventually made it to the top of the mountain, where-in lays a huge pile of boulders with the American Flag in the center. Witnessing the beautiful views of the city and the mountains surrounding our amazing valley before heading downhill.

The hike downhill began on a staircase made of boulders, until eventually you get a break with a flat trail, and finally the switchbacks heading the rest of the way. Hiking downhill was much easier than going up, by far.

I finished my hike just over an hour, longer than I typically would have completed this trail, but I did it! I hiked almost two and a half miles and I made it through day two. Only 363 more days to go!

Join me on my journey of hiking every day for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook , check out my videos on YouTube, and for more photos follow me on Flick and Instagram!

One thought on “Day 2 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

  1. Pingback: Day 4 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ – myloveofhiking

Leave a Reply

