Day 11 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

April 5th, 2016 ~ Day 11

11-1

I woke up late this morning so I had to take a short hike, but I made it to the trail. Had I woken up late before I set myself to this challenge, I wouldn’t have just stayed in bed. I’m glad I made it to the trails. It was a beautiful morning out!

A little dark when I arrived at the trailhead. Starting at the base of the mountain, I headed out beginning my hike on the Coachwhip Trail heading west. The trail begins going up a slight incline, nothing too difficult, but sometimes it can take your breath away.

11-2

I came to a fork in the trail, taking the Sunrise Trail, I decided to head up the switchbacks that lead you to the peak. The sun was beginning to rise behind the mountains. Only visible to me by the colors beginning to light up the sky.

11-4

I made my way around the mountain doing an easy 1.6-mile hike with a 235-foot elevation gain. The sun was rising between the other two mountains as I made my way back to the trailhead.

11-5

I made good time today, under thirty minutes for this hike. Back at the car, taking a picture of the messy hair. This is truly the life! I wish I could be out here on the trails all the time! Continuing this journey of hiking every day for 365 days!

Join me on my journey of hiking every day for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook , check out my videos on YouTube, and for more photos follow me on Flick and Instagram!

 

Leave a Reply

